Cameroon economic capital of Douala, has been raked the second most expensive city to live in Africa and also witnessed a one-place to become the 34th most expensive city on earth.

Alan Shepherd, branch manager at the British Council in Douala, says he has had to heavily cut back on personal expenses after moving here from Caracas in Venezuela over a year ago.

“This is the first time I’ve been in Africa. So all I can say is that the actual cost of living in Douala surprised me. It was higher than I had thought it was going to be, to be honest.

The best part about all this is that there is a PCV actually stationed in Douala, living on a volunteer’s salary. I remember hearing about volunteers being posted there on one year terms, but I’d never met any of them. Now I know why; they can’t afford to leave their house.

