Having internet is good so far. I’ve been able to download some software updated for my computer, read news and helped other people surf the internet. In fact, I went to the chefferie and let the Chief look at his email, then I asked if there was anything else he would like to see while connected, since I didn’t have to worry about cost. He didn’t know, so I typed in ‘Bangou Cameroun*’ on google.

A video I uploaded to youtube came up, as well as another, uploaded in 2005 by a previous Bangou PCV.

The guy with the hat is the chief, giving an interview to some reporter. The white guy in the back is the previous volunteer. He was about 6’3, blond hair, blue eyes, and people still confuse me with him once in a while.

There is also a Bangou web page at bangou.org which is in French and doesn’t have much content, but it’s pretty cool for a small village. The guy who paid to put it up is the brother of Aladji, my cultural counterpart and person whom I work most with for AADB projects.

Also, this blog was amongst the top results for Bangou, which I guess is how a Bangou from Belgium left a comment.

Now that I have internet, I thought about working on some projects that involve using the internet, unfortunately I didn’t think about that while paying for the connection since I only have it between 8 pm and 7 am. Either way, starting next week I will start giving computer lessons at the hotel with the computers we will be sending up to Bangou ville for the computer lab. That project is going well and the support that the congressman has given me for setting up the project has been great.

Also, last week I went to Bamenda, in the Anglophone part of Cameroon and got a bunch of DVDs. Now I have every season of Nip/Tuck, Lost, 24, Heroes, and almost every Al Pacino movie as well as a bunch of action movies. Between internet, computer classes, Web design* and small consulting gigs, I don’t know when I’ll find the time to watch them all.

*Cameroun is the French way of spelling Cameroon.

*I’m working on a Web site for AADB as well as another Web site for Bangante with one of the Assistant Mayors of the village.

