Cooking hamburgers by bogo light during my first month of training.

As I mentioned before, the bogo light people (bogolight.com) gave me 6 bogo lights to give out to families in my village. As I have been walking around with a bogo light in my village for the last year, people were familiar with the flash light and when I said I had some to give out, it cause a small uproar when they realized I only had a few.

As is protocol, I gave the first one to the Chief of the village. He had seen me walking around with the flash light for the last year and had mentioned numerous times how he wanted one, so when I finally gave him one, he was very excited. I also gave one to the chief of my quartier, who has also been bugging me for a flash light the last year. Just yesterday, the chief’s daughter mentioned to me how much the Chief appreciates his flash light and how whenever the lights go out, he does not burn candles anymore, he just uses his bogo light. The chief of my quartier has had a similar reaction. He won’t take the flash light out of his house for fear of losing it.

The Chief of Bangou saying thank you for the bogo light. In Cameroon, they pump their left hand when they want to show great appreciation and happiness.

Next, I gave one to Taco, the kid I kind of inherited from the last volunteer. He is graduating to the equivalent of high school, and he decided to go to the technical school and focus on electronics (the school system is very different than the US). I told him that the flashlight is a gift from some nice people in the US and now he has no excuse to not do well because now he has light at night to do his homework.

taco at his house, where he lives with 8 others

Showing Taco how to work the bogo light

Finally, I gave a flashlight to the doctor in the local clinic. Electricity problems can be a real pain for a clinic, so hopefully this will help.

I also gave a pink one to the volunteer who first introduced me to the flashlights. I believe she is still working with the bogo light people as well, and will be traveling back to the US soon.

I still have two left that I will leave for people when I finish my service. I’d like to do something special with them (the CEO of bogo light mentioned a loan program where they make payments towards the light, and I do work at a micro finance bank), and I still have time.

Once again, I have to thank the bogo light folk for letting me be part of their great company and helping bring light to the people of Bangou.

