One of the great things about being a development worker is the fact that you are on the ground watching the money that generous people have given being put to work. I can make sure that the money that you send goes directly to projects that will help the community.

The best example of this is an American names Ryan who lives in Yaoundé right down the street from the PC office. He came to Cameroon to volunteer at an orphanage run by a Cameroonean woman. Then he found out something that I’ve recently found out myself. Jobs that we consider sacred or meant for only a particular type of person are being done by anyone. Teachers, pastors and police, which are jobs we consider a particular kind of person should do, is done by whoever shows up first, as a job, and not as a sense of duty or natural inclination to helping a particular group. It means that my pastor is constantly asking for money or for things for himself and village teachers rarely show up to work to teach students because there is no economic reward to being a good teacher, or even showing up.

In Ryan’s case, in meant he was working for a woman running an orphanage for her own well-being, as a job, and to make money, with no regard to the wellbeing of the orphans they had taken in. Ryan was stuck trying to help orphans with no resources or no support and by even being there, giving support and validity to the orphanage. What would you do?

What he did was amazing and straight out of a movie. He stealthily got the guardians for the orphans to sign over living rights from the corrupt orphanage to an orphanage that he started himself, along with support from his brother and generous donors in the US.

He has gone through a lot of hardships in starting the orphanage and he is an inspiration to me. The work I’m doing in my village is pretty easy, especially when compared to his. I honestly don’t know how he does it, and it shows that some people are meant for certain jobs. Check out his website at greeneyesinafrica.com

I’ll speak more about him and his work when I come to the US in May. In the meantime, although AADB is still focused on aid and development work in Bangou, I have started helping out at the orphanage when possible. We have given hygene supplies to the kids and will continue helping when possible. Long term, it would be great to provide scholarships to the kids for college when the time comes.

Again, being here seeing the money in action is an amazing reward for my work here. The difference between giving money to a large non profit corporation and giving it to me, AADB, Angel Velarde is vast. I hope that the pictures, the blog and the stories I will be able to tell and show you will be a hint of the work that donors are doing with their donations.

