A female friend came to visit me at my village for a few days. I introduced her to everyone as my ‘femme’ (woman) which is wife. It’s kind of funny being that I’ve never had a real serious relationship, that now I’m married in my village. But, being married gives you respect in Cameroon culture. If you are a married man, you are seen as someone that is responsible for other people and you are automatically higher up in the social hierarchy.

I don’t really care about all that since I’m already pretty high up on the social ladder just being an American, but most importantly, it will keep the hookers away.

In general, the PC is very incestuous when it comes to dating. Many volunteers won’t date Africans for fear of disease or some other reason. However the ones that do end up dating Africans date some of the best looking people out there. One of the female volunteers near my village is dating probably the best looking man I have ever seen in person. If she ends up taking this guy home, it will be the best marketing the PC can get. The problem will be keeping a decent gender ratio.

I showed my wife the village, which took about 5 minutes. We also went to the chefferie (Chief’s palace) and to Baffusam where we met up with some other volunteers for a beer. I think she was impressed with my integration in the community, as most volunteers are when they come to visit, but they just don’t realize how remarkable Bangou truly is as a community and the way they host strangers.

Now, I have to figure out what to say when other female volunteers come to visit. What would my femme think!

