I just had a pinnapple that made me step back, look at it and say wow. It was as if snow white and the 7 dwarfs got together for a big group hug. It was that sweet.

Things aren’t so bad here. When I signed up for the PC, I expected to be living in a house with a tin room, one room and no electricity or water. The no water thing is true, and electricity is erratic, but everything is close to the house I was living in Plano, except by myself.

Also, being a PC volunteer in my small town gives a bit of validation to almost anything I say, and my job as a consultant at the bank, although it doesn’t pay anything since I’m a volunteer, is seen as one of the best jobs in town. Then again, any job where you get a steady paycheck is seen as a great job here.

The food is basically all carbs, probably fatty, totally natural; and freaking delicious. I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to eat fruit in the US again. If I’m ever hungry, I walk the 20 steps out of my house and buy whatever fresh fruits they have available. If it’s at night, I just pull out something from the goody safe, a box full of American food that you guys sent me.

I also know that for the next two years, I have a job. I don’t think anyone ever gets fired from the PC for incompetence, although there are many people that leave for other reasons or get kicked out because of breaking one of the 5 golden rules. Not only that, the job I’m doing, helping my community, is more fulfilling that any project I ever helped create at any of my other jobs.

I’ll get the chance to meet around 100 other Americans from around the country which I’ll form a special bond with, like a fraternity of sorts. Also, I’ve already met some great people in Cameroun who although we speak a different language, we have common goals of helping Bangou. Most of them are business owners or government officials which one day may build large companies or projects. I get to do all this while learning a new language, French, and even a local African language, Bangou, which not many people get to experience.

And best of all, even though I’m thousands of miles away, I get to see and experience how fortunate I am to have such a great group of friends and family back home.

So I wanted to highlight all the positives of being here, because from time to time, I may write about some crappy stuff going on, but all in all, things are all right.

Adolph, me and the ‘chef de cartier’ at a FUNeral.

