The French vocabulary has this word, ‘Derange’ which has no real counterpart in English. For example you would say; The rain is ‘derange-ing’, the kids in class are ‘derange’, The crazy guy in the village, he’s a ‘derange’, etc.

Basically, anything bothersome, annoying, crazy or that just gets in the way of normal behavior is ‘derange’. (To fix something is to arrange) It’s a great word and I have already added it to my normal English vocabulary. It’s ‘on the boat’ if you will. If I’m waiting for someone that is late I’ll say ‘I’m going to start ‘deranging’ if he doesn’t show up soon’.

There are many ‘derangers’ in the US and I’d like to do like many other French words we’ve borrowed and take ‘derange’ over to the US side of the ocean.

One thing that does bother me about the language though is the lack of the word ‘like’, as in ‘I like apples’. In French you would say, ‘J’aime poms’, I love apples. You can’t say that you just like them, you just have to love them. So if I want to tell people I like something while I’m here, I have to make sure I really like it, cause I’m actually saying I love it. I’ve caught myself trying to tell my counterpart I like him, and when I catch myself not wanting to tell him I love him, I’ll instead say, ‘Je vien ici parce que ce bon’, I come here because it’s good.

In French, they make a distinction between you (formal) ‘vous’ and you (informal) ‘tu’, the same as ‘usted’ and ‘tu’ in Spanish. This no doubt adds to the hierarchy, almost caste system they have in place here. It also adds to my confusion since I change from ‘tu’ to ‘vous’ and back again in the middle of conversations depending on which tense I can remember (In French the subject has to agree with the verb), which I’m sure ‘deranges’ the Camerouneans who are trying to understand me.

tacos school

I took this at tacos school. He came up to me and said and and I said hi back. Im sure all his friends think hes pretty cool. pretty much the same effect as the US.

