One of the first things that happened at post was about 5 petites that came over to offer their services. Petites is a relative term since the oldest of the petites was 20 years old. They had all worked or known the previous volunteer so I was happy to put them to work since my house is dirty and there are lots of things to do.

I told them to come back on Monday and we would talk about what work I could give them, but I told the first one there, Taco, to hang out for a bit and I could put him to work. I asked him to get me some water from the well, clean a refrigerator* that the previous volunteer left me and take my garbage to the garbage dump (the corner of the street where everyone agrees to dump all their garbage.) For all that, I gave him 500 cfa** and a deck of cards. Believe it or not, that’s pretty good.

The next day I went to Baffusam which our training director called ‘Our Chicago’, to shop for some basics. I needed a mattress, buckets, kitchen stuff, etc. My host dad was nice enough to go with me, and I made it worth his while by buying him a couple of small things.

While we were shopping, it rained really hard for about an hour. When it rains, the marche shuts down so we just have to stand around under cover somewhere until it stops. Right after, we ran into another volunteer who was also shopping and ensemble, we ate then finished our shopping. We had a ton of stuff including a mattress for each of us, so we had to ask a taxi to take us back to the travel agency to go back to Bangante. While in the taxi, it broke down (which is supposedly common, the other volunteer said that on the way to Baffusam, her taxi ran out of gas), so we stood around a lot waiting for them to fix it. Finally we gave up and just walked the rest of the distance to the agency. As we were walking, the training director happened to drive by and stopped. He said he was in town to give something to the volunteer who I’m taking over for (she extended for another year and is now working in Baffusam) and was nice enough to offer us a ride back. C’est la vie ici au Cameroun.

*that doesn’t work

**about 1 dollar


The rain pouring down on the marche


breaking down and waiting for a pus-pus to take our stuff.


Taco hard at work

