I thought I would change in Africa. I was hoping that all my immaturity over life, work and relationships suddenly disappear and I finally become this ‘good person’ that I felt I had the potential to be. But I really haven’t changed much. The same stupid things run thru my head often. But what has also happened is that being here makes it easier to do good things. In the US I’m surrounded by thoughts of that are selfish. I am often trying to make myself happier in some way or another. Here it is easier to think about others and ways to make their life better. Not as much during training, but especially while at post. 

I’m glad I’m now in a less selfish environment where I’m able to focus on others. Although I haven’t changed, my environment has changed and that’s brought things in perspective.

PS. THREE MORE DAYS UNTIL I GO TO POST!!!

