Monday, February 26, 2007

 

the right place

Doing important things in life takes a lot of thought.

Or impulsiveness.

I lean towards the latter for my decision making, especially big decisions.

Friendship, romantic relationship, career, safety decisions, all made in a moments time.

So I tend to go back from time to time and re-evaluate my decisions, none bigger in my life than my looming Peace Corps assignment in Africa.

I am leaving behind friends, famliy and a budding marketing career. A budding poker hobby. A bartending job. a hot tub I occasionally get to use. Way too much clothing for a heterosexual man.

But everyone once in a while, I pull my head out of the past, and look at the future. The continent I’ll be going to, and the suffering that is going on there. The starving, dying, motherless children. Thinking about it, reading about it and seeing it on tv tears at my heart like nothing else. I can sit thru E.T. and Bambi, but the thought of dying children in Africa makes me cry.

That’s how I know I’m doing the right thing. That’s how I knew I was doing the right thing back then when started. God had made up his mind and He put it in my heart, and would not take it away.

